

JEFFERSON COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO. 1 (EAST JEFFERSON FIRE RESCUE)

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES FROM SEPTEMBER 7, 2022

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Seabrook called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM. Virtual "GoToMeeting" held on-line: call in number (571) 317-3122, Access code or ID 704-320-605.

COMMISSIONERS & ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

District 1 Commissioners: David Seabrook, Geoffrey Masci, Deborah Stinson, Steve Craig and Deborah Tillman (joint meeting with PLFR Commissioners holding their meeting simultaneously) Absent:

Admin Staff: Chief Black and District Secretary Ysseldyke-All

NEW BUSINESS

A. Resolution 22-08: A Resolution of the Board of Commissioners Expressing Support for Proposition No. 1 in which Voters of Port Ludlow will be asked to Vote on the Issue of the Merger of Port Ludlow Fire & Rescue and East Jefferson Fire Rescue

Chairman Seabrook read the resolution out loud. Chief Black said the resolution enables the Commissioners to talk about the merger without the disclaimer that it is their own opinion and that both EJFR and PLFR Boards support the merger.

MOTION: Commissioner Masci made a motion to approve Resolution 22-08: A Resolution of the Board of Commissioners Expressing Support for Proposition No. 1 in which Voters of Port Ludlow will be asked to Vote on the Issue of the Merger of Port Ludlow Fire & Rescue and East Jefferson Fire Rescue. Commissioner Tillman seconded the motion. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

B. *Public Comment* – None

GOOD OF THE ORDER - Chairman Seabrook reminded everyone that no public assets can be used to promote the ballot measure.

Chief Black said that staff is working on truthful and objective information to share with the public when asked about the merger.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Commissioner Masci made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 4:12 PM. Commissioner Stinson seconded the motion. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Jefferson County Fire District 1

Dave Seabrook

David Seabrook, Chairman

Geoff Masci

Geoffrey Masci, Commissioner

Deborah Tillman, Commissioner

Kaborah Juniom

Deborah Stinson, Vice Chairman

Steve Craig

Steve Craig, Commissioner ATTEST:

Jour Wouldyn - ale

Teresa Ysseldyke-All, District Secretary September 7, 2022