Today, East Jefferson Fire Rescue is comprised of the incorporated city of Port Townsend and the unincorporated Jefferson County communities of Cape George, Chimacum, Irondale, Kala Point, Marrowstone Island and Port Hadlock, Washington. The department typically responds to a little over 4,500 calls for service each year.

We respond to a wide variety of emergencies ranging from medical calls to multiple vehicle accidents and commercial structure fires.  The District services a contract with Jefferson Healthcare to transport patients from that facility to Bremerton, Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia and Everett, Washington hospitals.


EJFR was originally three separate fire departments.


East Jefferson Fire Rescue provides service under the all-hazards response envelope.

Emergency Medical Services

Medical calls make up approximately 74% of what we do at EJFR.

Apparatus & Stations

EJFR utilizes six fire stations, eight ambulances and six fire engines.

Fire Prevention Bureau

East Jefferson Fire Rescue’s Fire Prevention Bureau has three components: public education, prevention & investigation.

Community Resources

More resources for your perusal.